The Time I Saw Jesus

So I went to this horrible camp one time, in my 8th grade year. It took houuuuurrrs to get there, and by the end of the long car ride, I had blared Bleeding Love and was screaming it out. When we got there, we couldn’t find our dorms. We passed huge rock houses, and Ping-Pong tables were everywhere, pretty little fountains, and all that camp-ey stuff. Everything was looking up, until we got to our dorms –little houses with bunk beds. We didn’t have the cool stuff everyone else had, but we did happen to bring baseball and football stuff with us.

The services were pretty typical Baptist church stuff, with a bunch of repetitive things said. The first concert/worship time wasn’t very spirit-led. I don’t remember why I thought the camp was so…eh. But I do remember that the junior high morning service. The band was fantastic for that service, and the sermon was challenging, and it blew me away.

On the second morning, even the high school kids in my church group went to the junior high service and it was great. At the end of the sermon, we prayed and the band was still worshiping. Our group didn’t want to leave, so we were all waiting until the last minute. Standing there worshiping, I looked at the stage and standing there, I saw Jesus. Blinking, I thought I was crazy, but he was really there. He stood on the stage in the midst of the band, hands raised in His own worship. When they ended with another prayer, Jesus just got on a stool that was there and sat down, like He was gonna chill for a minute. Leaning over to my two friends, Kara and another girl, I asked “Do you see Him?” “See who?” “Jesus. He’s on the stage!” We had to leave quickly after that, but the image is sealed in my head forever.

That camp ended up being life-changing, not only for me by seeing Jesus, but also for Kara (who gave her life fully over to the Lord there). My faith increased after that camp, and I began to look for Jesus everywhere I went. Also, I learned that no matter how late I stayed up, or how irked I was at any present situation, or how repetitive the preaching is, or how monotonous the band is…Jesus still showed up. At that camp, I was blessed because I saw Jesus worship His Father. Now I can say that Jesus taught me how to worship.

And I know that wherever I am, Jesus will be there also.

Psalm 16:11 “…You will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”

Psalm 89:15 “Blessed are the people who know how to praise You. They walk in the light of your presence all day long.”

Romans 8:38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Psalm 61:7 “May he be enthroned in God’s presence forever; appoint your love and faithfulness to protect him.”

2 thoughts on “The Time I Saw Jesus

Leave a Reply

