The Biggest Dream

Last night at church we talked about Dreaming Bigger. We looked at Ephesians 4:20 which says; “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us […to him be glory].” The leaders asked each of their students about a dream that would only be possible with God. We challenged them to dream a dream so big that only God could fill it. Then we ended with prayer, asking that our dreams would become a reality.

Today there are nearly 27 million slaves around the world. Around half of them are under the age of eighteen. 80% Involve Sexual Exploitation. Every two minutes a child is being prepared for Sexual Exploitation.

Now, my list of dreams did not include ending child slavery. But that is impossible, right? How could I, a girl who is barely past eighteen, end slavery? Sex trafficking is a growing enterprise, affecting every part of the world. It’s huge and it’s overwhelming and so depressing and so colossal. It’s so ridiculously immeasurable, there’s no way that anyone will ever be able to stop it. It is impossible.

But wait! (–I tell myself)  “With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.” Mark  10:27. And if that verse is true… I can do all things with Christ (Philippians 4:13).

Normally, I would pray that slavery would decrease. That a girl would be rescued –even if it was just one girl. That a trafficker would go to jail. I would normally pray realistically. I would pray possible things. Things that are easy to have faith enough for. But Ephesians tells me that God is going to do immeasurably more than I ask, so I’m going to pray for something bigger now. I am going to take my stand now. I am ready to shout “I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS ME!”

I’m saying “ENOUGH!” I am tired of being scared and faithless and trembling in the corner. I’m tired of praying wimpy prayers. I’m ready to “Be strong and courageous. Don’t tremble! Don’t be afraid of them! The Lord your God is the one who is going with you. He won’t abandon you or leave you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6) I am ready to have the faith that can move this gigantic mountain of slavery. My faith will not be as big (or as little) as a mustard seed. My faith will be bigger than this mountain. My dreams will be bigger than this mountain. My prayers will move this mountain.

Slavery can be defeated and it can be overcome.

Now, I’m not saying that I’m going to go on a rampage about sex trafficking and I’m going to end it tomorrow at 11:59pm. And I’m not saying that slavery will end in just one day. But this is what I am saying: One day, this will all end. And I will be a part of it.

Isaiah 41:10 “Don’t be afraid, because I am with you. Don’t be intimidated; I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will support you with my victorious right hand.”

Slavery will end. My prayers will move this mountain. It is all possible with God.

Leave a Reply

